New Mexico uses a point system for drivers. Most traffic violations have a point value that is added to your driving record if you are convicted of the violation. Here are some common violations and their point values:
· Reckless driving – 6 points
· Failure to yield to emergency vehicle – 4 points
· Careless driving – 3 points
· Speeding – 3 – 8 points (depending on speed)
If you earn 7 to 10 points in a year’s time, you could lose your privilege to drive for up to three months. Your license will be suspended if you earn 12 points in a year.
When driving in New Mexico, you must always follow the posted speed limit. In school zones, you must travel no faster than 15 mph. Business and residential districts usually have a posted speed limit of 30 mph. Public highways have a 55 mph speed limit, and rural interstates often have a 75 mph speed limit. Failure to follow the speed limit will result in a ticket and fine. The amount of the fine will be based on how fast you were going above the posted limit. Also, points will be added to your record, unless you are speeding on a rural road. Going 26 mph over the speed limit or exceeding 75 mph on any road is grounds for a reckless driving charge. The cell phone laws in New Mexico vary from city to city.
When driving in New Mexico, always yield the right of way to emergency vehicles that have their lights or sirens on. If you can, pull to the right hand side of the road. You must stop and stay still until the emergency vehicle has passed.
The law in New Mexico requires all drivers to have their safety belts fastened. Also, children under the age of two or who weigh less than 60 pounds must be in a child safety device. Any other children under the age of 12 must have their safety belts fastened. Failure to follow this law results in a $25 fine plus other fees. Also, you will have two points added to your license. Anyone under the age of 18 on a motorcycle must have a helmet on.